The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) is a center-left, democratic socialist political party in Pakistan affiliated with Socialist International.

Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians, (abbr. PPPP), is an electoral extension of the Pakistan Peoples Party, formed in 2002 by the PPP for the purpose of complying with electoral rules governing Pakistani parties. The Pakistan Peoples Party was founded on November 30, 1967 by Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, who became its first chairman and later Prime Minister of Pakistan. PPP is the largest political party of Pakistan. This party has been active in Pakistani politics since the separation of the East Wing from the rest of Pakistan. The party gained much popularity and support during the era of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto. The party won the 1971 elections on a socialist mandate of “Mani, Kapro, Ghar” (“bread, clothes, shelter”). PPP took control of the country after the Indian-supported independent war of Bangladesh (previously known as east Pakistan) in 1971. After the first parliamentary term, PPP secured a landslide victory in the 1977 elections to rule for another five years. PPP was a socialist nationalist party when formed by Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, but it moved toward the right under Benazir Bhutto. Zulfikar Ali Bhutto wanted closer ties with China and more attention to the lower classes. Benazir Bhutto adopted conservative privatization policies in order to secure funding from the United States and the World Bank. Although twice elected Prime Minister, Benazir Bhutto was criticized for corruption and extrajudicial killings. The PPP currently holds 126 seats in the National Assembly and 27 seats in the Senate. It is the current government of Pakistan. It forms the provincial government in Sindh and is the official opposition in Punjab. In the Angus-Reid pre-election polls of 22 December 2007, it was in first place, with about 30% of the vote. It is strong in the rural areas of Sindh and Punjab.


Zulfikar Ali Bhutto was the founder and first chairman of the Pakistan Peoples Party. His wife, Nusrat Bhutto, succeeded him as chairperson and held the position into the 1980s. In 1982, Nusrat Bhutto, ill with cancer, was given permission to leave Pakistan for medical treatment and remained abroad for several years. At that point her daughter, Benazir Bhutto, became acting head of the party while Nusrat technically remained its chairman and was referred to as such as late as September 1983. By January 1984, Benazir was being referred to as the party’s chairman. She had been elected chairperson for life, and as such was chair until her assassination on 27 December 2007. Her nineteen-year old son, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and his father Asif Ali Zardari were appointed party co-chairmen after assassination of Benazir Bhutto on 30 December 2007.


  1. Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (1967–1979)
  2. Nusrat Bhutto (1979–1984)
  3. Benazir Bhutto (1984–2007)
  4. Bilawal Bhutto Zardari (2007–Present)
  5. Asif Ali Zardari (2007–Present) Co-Chairman, and Chairman of the Central Executive Committee

Major Office Bearers (Current)

  • Ameen Faheem, Senior Vice Chairman and President (Parliamentarians Wing)
  • Yousaf Raza Gillani, Vice Chairman
  • Senator Jahangir Badar, Secretary General
  • Senator Raza Rabbani, Deputy Secretary General
  • Sardar Mir Baz M Khan Khetran, Senior Vice President (Parliamentarians Wing)
  • Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, Secretary General (Parliamentarians Wing)
  • Qamar Zaman Kaira, Information Secretary
  • Haider Zaman Qureshi, Deputy Information Secretary
  • Babar Awan, Vice President
  • Mr. Imtiaz Safdar Waraich, President PPP Punjab
  • Zahir Ali Shah, President PPP Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa
  • Nawabzada Lashkari Raisani, Acting President PPP Balochistan
  • Qaim Ali Shah, President PPP Sindh
  • Ch. Abdul Majeed, President PPP AJK
  • Syed Mehdi Shah, President PPP Gilgit Baltistan
  • Faryal Talpur, Chairperson Women’s Wing