Politics of Pakistanhave taken place in the framework of a federal republic, where the system of government has at times been parliamentary, presidential, or semi-presidential. In the current parliamentary system, the President of

Liaqat Ali Khan-First Prime Minister of Pakistan

Pakistan is the largely ceremonial head of state, the Prime Minister is head of government, and there is a multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is largely vested in the Parliament.

Between 1947 and 1958, there were no direct elections held in Pakistan at the national level. Provincial elections were held occasionally

The first direct elections held in the country after independence were for the provincial Assembly of the Punjab between 10-20 March 1951.

In 1965  First Indrect Presidential Elections were held amond 80,000 Basic democrates who members of Urban and Ruraral union councils  in which Ayub Khan defeated Muhtrma Fatima Jinah by taking 64% votes.

First direct General Elections held in 1970 under martial law of Yahaya Khan in which Awamin leage sweeped east paksitan under leadership of Sehikh Mujeeb Ur Rehman and won 160 seats out of 300. while Paksitan Peoples Party sweeped West Pakistan and won 81 seats.

Sheikh Mujeeb u Rehman (L), Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto(R)

2nd General elections were held in Pakistan on 7 March 1977 under the government of Pakistan Peoples Party  and  the result was a victory for the Pakistan People’s Party, which won 155 of the 200 elected seats, including 19 that were uncontested as the Pakistan National Alliance boycotted the Balochistan elections due to ongoing military operations. A big anti Peoples Party and anti Bhutto movement started after the polls on allegations of fraud and rigging which ends on another Martial Law in Pakistan.

Third direct general elections held in1985 on Non Party basis under President ship of General Zia Ul Haq and Mr. Mohammed Khan Jonejo became prime minister.

After death of Gerneral Zia General elections held in 1988, 1990 1993 and 1997 and Beniazir Bhutto and Mr. Nawaz Sharif remined in power one after another and the era ends upon another Martial Law of General Pervaiz Musharraf.

Benazir Bhutto (L) Nawaz Sharif (R)

Eighth general elections held under Martial Law of Pervaiz Musharraf and National Assembly completed its tenure second time after governement of Zulfiqar Ali Bhutoo (1973-1977) under umbrella of General Musharram.

Ninth General Elections held in 2008 while Musharaff was still president but retired from amred forces and fourth time Pakistan Peoples Party came in to Power.

2011 was the year when new star sines in politics of Pakistan when former cricket star Imran Khan shows power its political party in a huge gathering in Lahore.

Imran Khan challenged all main stream parties in elections of 2013 but managed to get overwhelming majority in Khyber Pakhtunkhawa only. overall PML-N formed government after sweeping victory.

Election Details From 1988-2013

Party 1988 1990 1993 1997 2002 2008 2013
Pakistan Peoples Party 93 44 89 18 81 124 42
Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) 54 106 73 137 19 91 166
PTI 0 1 0 35
Pakistan Muslim League (Q) 0 0 0 0 126 59 2
Awami National Party 2 6 3 10 0 13 2
Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal Pakistan 0 0 0 0 63 defunct
Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM)* 13 15 0 12 17 25 24
Jamiat-Ulema-e-Islam (Fazlur Rehman) 7 6 0 2 0 7 11
JI 3
Other Parties/Independents ** 38 30 42 28 36 21 50
Total Turnout 43.07% 45.46% 40.28% 35.42% 41.08% 44.23%
Total Seats 207 207 207 207 342 340 340

Search for your constituency