Established: July 1, 1970                  

Capital: Quetta                         

Area: 347,190 km2 (134,050.8 sq mi)

Population: 7,914,000 Est.2011  

 No. of Districts: 30              

National Assembly seats: 14

Provincial assembly seats: 65               

Governor: Zulfiqar Ali Magsi 

Chief Minister: Aslam Raeesani



Nawab Zulfiqar Magsi-Governer

Balochistan is one of the four provinces or federating units of Pakistan. With an area of 134,051 mi2 or (347,190 km2), it is the largest province of Pakistan. It consists of 44% of the total land mass of Pakistan. According to the 1998 population census, Balochistan had a population of roughly 6.6 million. Quetta is the largest city of province and  summer capital. The new port city Gwadar, is recently raised to status of winter capital.

Balochistani culture is primarily tribal, deeply patriarchal and conservative. Baloch society is dominated by tribal chieftains called Mirs, Sardars and Nawabs, who are the ruling elite of Balochistan and have been criticized for blocking the educational development and empowerment of the common baloch people.

 Balochi represent 40% of Balochistan’s population while 20% of households speak Brahui, Pashtuis spoken by around 40% of the population making Balochi and Pashtu the two dominant languages in the region. Other languages include, HazaragiSindhi, Punjabi and Brahui and Saraiki. Balochi-speaking people are concentrated in the sparsely populated west, east, south and southeast; Brahui

Nawab Aslam Raeesani-Cheif Minister

speakers dominate in the centre of the province, while the Pashtuns are the majority in the north. The Kalat and Mastung areas speak Brahui. Quetta, the capital of the province, is largely populated with Pashtun people (actually more than 2 million afghan refugees settled in Quetta and the surrounding area) as prior to recent surge of migration various other Afghan refugee called as Afghani Khorasani tribes also migrated in 1960s decade like Nasar, Khilji, Kharoti, Andar, Sulemankhel Tokhai, Sulemankhel, Mullakhel,Tajik etc to Balochistan especially Quetta and other Pashtoon dominated areas.(See Pawanda Regulations 1952)Hazaras has a sizeable population in Mahrabad and Hazara town neighbourhood of Quetta and speak Hazaragi.

The present MNA from Quetta Sayd Nasir Ali Shah and Jan Ali Changazi MPA belongs to Hazara tribe. In the Lasbela District, the majority of the population speaks Balochi, or Lasi(Sindhi). Jamot tribes of Sibi Naseerabad and Kachhi region widely speak Sindhi. A large number of approximately over 4 million Afghan refugees moved to Quetta and other cities of Balochistan after the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan in 1979. Near the Kalat region and other parts of the province there are significant numbers of Baloch Brahui speakers.

Notable Politicians:

  • Nawab Akbar Bugti
  • Sardar Attaullah Maingal
  • Nawab Kahir Buksh Murree
  • Akhtar Maingal
  • Mir Zafarullah Jamali
  • Jam Ghulam Qadir Khan
  • Jam Mohammed Yousuf
  • Ghous Baksh Bazinjo
  • Sardar Gul Mohammed Jogizai

For administrative purposes, the province is subdivided into 30 districts.

Awaran     Barkhan           Bolan   Chagai             Dera Bugti      Gwadar           Harnai             Jafarabad         Jhal Magsi

Kalat         Kech    Kharan                        Khuzdar          Kohlu              Killa Abdullah                        Killa Saifullah                Lasbela

Loralai       Mastung          Musakhel         Nasirabad        Nushki             Panjgur            Pishin              Quetta

Sherani      Sibi      Washuk           Zhob    Ziarat