Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Established: July 1, 1970                   Capital: Peshawar

Area: 74,521 km2 (28,772.7 sq mi)

Population: 20,215,000 est.2008    No. of Districts: 25               National Assembly seats: 35

Provencial assembly seats: 124

Governor: Iqbal Zafar Jhagra

Chief Minister: Pervaiz Khattak (Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf)

Pervaiz Khatak- Cheif Minister KPK

Amir Haider Khan Hoti (ex-Cheif Minister-ANP)

formerly known as the North-West Frontier Province, is one of the four provinces of Pakistan, located in the north-west of the country. It borders Afghanistan to the north-west, Gilgit-Baltistan to the north-east, Azad Kashmir to the east, the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) to the west and south, Balochistan to the south and Punjab and the Islamabad Capital Territory to the south-east.

The main ethnic group in the province is the Pashtuns; other smaller ethnic groups include most notably the Hazarewals, Gujjar’s and Chitralis. The principal languages are Pashto, locally referred to as Pukhto.

The provincial capital is Peshawar, locally referred to as Pekhawar.


In may 2013 election’s pakistan tehreek-e-Insaf emerged as single largest party and establushed its govenment with the help of jamat-e-Islami and Aftab Ahmed Sherpao’s Quomi Watan party.

In November 2013 just after six months Quomi Watan party excluded from governmen of Tehreek-e-Insaf on corruption charges.

The province consists of the following 25 districts, including 5 Provincially Administered Tribal Areas (PATAs):

Abbottabad     Bannu        Battagram  Buner                Charsadda  Chitral (PATA)    Dera Ismail Khan

Hangu   Haripur      Karak                Kohat                Kohistan     Lakki Marwat        Lower Dir (PATA)

Malakand (PATA)     Mansehra   Mardan      Nowshera   Peshawar   Shangla     Swabi

Swat (PATA)   Tank Tor Ghar    Upper Dir (PATA)

Notable Piliticians:

Sahbzada Abdul Qayyum khan

Dr. Khan Sahib

Mufti Mehmood

Abdul Wali Khan


  • Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan
  • Sahibzada Abdul Qayyum Khan
  • Doctor Khan Sahib
  • Moulana Mufti Mehmood
  • Khan Abdul Wali Khan
  • Arbab Jehangir Khan
  • Lt. Gen. Ret. Fazl e Haq
  • Aftab Ahmed Sherpao
  • Ajmal Khatak
  • Mir Afzal Khan
  • Qazi hussain Ahmed
  • Moulana Fazl ur Rehman
  • Pir Sabir Shah
  • Mehtab Ahmed Khan Abbasi
  • Akram Khan Durrani
  • Khuwaja Mohammed Khan Hoti
  • Asfand Yar Wali
  • Ghulam Ahmed Bilour