Noshehra District

Area: 1,748 km2
Population:  874,373 < est.1998
National Assembly Seats: 2
Provincial Assembly Seats:  5
Talluqas/ Subdivisions:

Current Party Position

Party Ranking:









Most Influential Politician:

Noshehra is a district in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province of Pakistan – the principal city is Nowshera. Nowshera District is divided into 47 Union Councils and 5 provincial seats.

Until 1988 Nowsehra was a tehsil (sub division) of Peshawar; in 1988 it became a district.

The main Language is Pushto followed by Jandali and Majhi dialects of Punjabi Language which is spoken in areas of Nowshera Kalan, Akora Khattak, Shaidu, Jehangira and several other villages situated along the Grand Trunk Road. The literacy rate is 89%.

Housing four major cantonments, a military college and a Pakistan Air Force academy, Nowshera is surely military-dominated. Mapped out in 1988, it is the Frontier’s link to the Punjab and is at the heart of the debate about the Kalabagh Dam. The other most known landmark in the district is Darul Uloom Haqqania at Akora Khattak, the seminary from where most of the senior Taliban leadership, including Mullah Umar, received their religious education.

Kakakhels are a prominent Syed clan of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. Their roots reach to Hazrat Ali bin Ismail bin Imame-Jafer Sadiq. Kakakhels are descendants of the Islamic Sufi (wali) Syed Kastir Gul (also known as Kaka Sahib), and Sheikh Rahamkar.The title of Rahamkar was given by Syed Abdul Wahab Akhun Panju Baba– a student of Sheikh Hazrat Akhun Adeen/Adyan Seljuki. Kastir Gul was affectionately known as “Kakasahib”, and his descendants are known as Kakakhels – meaning “the sons of Kakasahib”. The clan originated in a small village known as “Kakasaib”. Late Amir of Jamat-e-Islami Qazi Hussain Ahmed was most prominent personality from Kaka Shaib Village.

Nowshera is represented by two National Assembly seats and five provincial assembly seats.


National Assembly Constituencies:

NA- 5  Nowshehra– i                 Pabbi MC., Chirat Cantt., Pabbi Q.H, Part Nowshehra Q.H  

NA- 6  Nowshehra – ii               Nowshehra Cantt., Nowshehra Kalan Mucipality, Risalpur Cantt., Akora Khattak Town, Jahangira M.C., Khairabad Q.H, Part Nowshehra Q.H