NA-37 Tank (Old NA-25 Tank)

Eng. Dawar khan kundi

Eng. Dawar khan kundi

MNA: Eng Dawar khan Kundi

Party: PTI

In 2013 general elections Moulana Fazlur Rahman won this seat by defeating PTI’s Dawar khan kundi with Margin of 30 thousand votes while PPP’s Faisal Karim Kundi remained close third. Moulana abandon this seat in favour of NA-24 and in by-elections Eng. Dawar khan Kundi clinched this seat for PTI defeating JUI-F’s candidate.

Current Political Position


Maulana Fazlur Rehman, the MMA chief, won from this seat in the 2002 elections. Trailing him was Dawar Khan Kundi of the PPP and al-Haaj Sardar Umar Farooq Miankhel of the PML-Q. The JUIF chief won the seat by appealing to the voters’ religious sentiments in the wake of the US-led invasion of Afghanistan. In 2008, brother of Moulana Fazl ur Rehman’s brother Maulana Attaur Rehman of the MMA clinched the seat with narrow margin from Habiullah Khan Kundi running from PML-Q plateform while Engineer Dawar Khan Kundi of the PPP remained close third.

Tank city is inhabited by the Bittani, Marwat, Jat, Kundi, Mahsud and Burki tribes. The last two are natives of the neighboring South Waziristan agency but have now settled here. The bulk of the constituency’s votes are divided among the residents of city, the Bittani-dominated villages, the Jattatar and Kundi areas, and the tribesmen of South Waziristan. In the last general elections, the city’s residents and the people of Kundi and Jattatar supported the PPP’s candidate, Dawar Kundi. However, the tribesmen-dominated villages ensured the victory of Fazlur Rehman and his brother Moulana Ataur Rehman.


Total population:                            391885
Total Registered Voters:               320178
Provincial Seats:                              1

PF-69 (2008 winner: Mehmood Ahmed Khan – JUI-F)

Results of 2013 By Elections

Party Candidate Votes %
PTI Engineer Dawar Khan Kundi 73,754 51.29
JUI-F Asad Mehmood 66,069 45.94

Results of 2013 Elections

Party Candidate Votes %
JUI-F Molana Fazal Ur Rehman 77,595 43.98
PTI Engineer Dawar Khan Kundi 47,543 25.35
PPP Faisal Karim Kundi 46,262 24.67

 Results of 2008 Elections

Winner Moulana Ata ur Rehman MMA Acquired Votes: 44673
Runner Up Habibullah Kundi PML-Q Acquired Votes: 42831

 Results of 2002 Elections:

Winner Moulana Fazl ur Rehman MMA Acquired Votes: 59102
Runner Up Dawar Khan Kundi PPP Acquired Votes: 31976


Constituency Structure:

  • Tank District
  • Part D.I.Khan District