Established: July 1, 1970

Capital: Lahore

  Area: 205,344 km2 (79,283.8 sq mi)

Population: 81,330,531 Est.2010

No. of Districts: 36

National Assembly seats: 148

Provincial assembly seats: 371

Governor: Latif Khosa (PPP)

Chief Minister: Mian Shehbaz Sharif (PML-N)

Punjab is the most populous province of Pakistan, with approximately 45% of the country’s total population. Punjab has a total of 148 national assembly seats which means the party who will win punjab or take major chunk of seat will be able to make government in center.

Punjab always remain the center of political movements including independence movement of British India.

Pakistan Peoples Party enjoyed political dominance in Punjab right after its formation from 1968 till 1988. from 1988 onwards Punjab become the stronghold of PML-N with emergence of Mian Nawaz Sharif on national horizon. Mian Nawaz Sharif remained Chief Minister of Punjab from 1985 to 1990. After 1977, PPP never able to form provincial government in Punjab, though got a good chunk of seats in from here in 1988 and 1993 elections.

Mian Shahbaz Sharif, the brother of Mian Nawaz Sharif became Chief Minister in 1997 and got credibility of good administrator in very short time.  After the martial law of Pervaiz Musharraf, PML-Q under the leader ship of Choudhry Pervaiz Elahi steer the punjab for for than five years but in 2008 elections PML-N once again snatched back their stronghold and now PML(N) is in power in Punjab after 2008 elections when it emerged as single largest party in Punjab.

Notable Politicians of Punjab:

Mian Mumtaz Doultana

Malik Feroz Khan Noon

Abdul Hamid Khan Dasti

Nawab Iftekhar Hussain Mamdot

Malik Meraj Khalid

1- Nawab Iftekhar Hussain Khan Mamdot

2- Mian Mumtaz Doultana

3- Feroz khan Noon

4- Abdul Hamid khan Dasti

5- Malik Khuda Bkhsh Bucha

6- Malik Meraj Khalid

7- Ghulam Mustafa Khar

8- Mohammed Hanif Ramay

9- Sadiq Hussain Quraishi

10- Ghulam Hyder Wyen

11- Mian Nawaz Sharif

12- Mian Manzoor Wattoo

13- Makhdoom Sajjad Hussain Quraishi

14- Jahangir Badar


There are 36 districts in Punjab,  (Please click on districts to know current political scenario)

Attock     Bahawalnagar     Bahawalpur     Bhakkar 

Chakwal   Chiniot       Dera Ghazi Khan       Faisalabad

Gujranwala    Gujrat     Hafizabad     Jhang      Jehlum    

Kasur    Khanewal    Khushab     Lahore    Layyah

Lodhran    Mandi Bahauddin       Mianwali       Multan    

Muzaffargarh            Narowa     Nankana Sahib

Okara        Pakpattan       Rahim Yar Khan       Rajanpur     

Rawalpindi            Sahiwal       Sargodha

Sheikhupura             Sialkot      Toba Tek Singh