NA-190 Bahawalnager iii  (Chishtian)

Tahir Basheer Cheema

Tahir Basheer Cheema

MNA: Tahir Bashir Cheema

Party: PML-N

Current Political Position


Abdul Sattar Khan Laleka of the PML-Q beat Sajjad Ahmed Jathol of the PPP by some 4,000 votes here in 2002 to win his sixth consecutive election. Laleka became the federal minister for labour and overseas Pakistanis in PML-Q government , but died in 2004. His seat was won by the PML-Q’s Tahir Bashir Cheema in the by-election.

In 2008 elections again Cheema faced Chaudhry

Choudhry Abdul Ghfoor

Abdul Ghafoor of the PPP. Choudhry Abdul Ghafoor has joined the PPP after having remained a member of both the PML-N and the PML-Q. He quit PML-Q in 2007 and and defeated Tahir Bashir Cheema with margin of around 7000 votes. Choudhry is  Federal Minister in Raja Pervaiz Ashraf cabinet.


Total population:                            516137
Total Registered Voters:               316829
Provincial Seats:                              2

Results of 2013 Elections:

Tahir Bashir Cheema PML-N 82618
Muhammad Ijaz ul Haq PML-Z 48250
Malik Muhammad Muzaffar Khan PTI 40328


Ihsan Ul Haq Bajwa PML-N 36704
Sikandar Fayyaz Bhadera PTI 20222
Chaudhary Muhammad Asghar Independent 14334
Choudhary Imarn Faisal PML-Z 7820
Pir Muhammad Farooq Chishty PPP-P 6341
Karam Khan Lakhwera PML-F 5761


Chaudhary Zahid Akram PML-N 36993
Mian Abdul Wahid PML-Z 23895
Muhammad Abdullah Wanse PTI 21240
Sardar Muhammad Afzal Tatla PPP-P 4279
Ata Ullah Nat Independent 3992
Zulfiqar Ali Basra Independent 3016



 Results of 2008 Elections:

Winner Ch. Abdul Ghafoor PPPP Acquired Votes: 77664
Runner Up Tahir Bashir Cheema PML(Q) Acquired Votes: 70081

 Results of 2002 Elections:

Winner Abdul Sattar Laleka PML(Q) Acquired Votes: 58836
Runner Up Sajjad Ahmed Jathol PPP Acquired Votes: 54659


Constituency Structure

1-      Chishtian Tehsil

2-      Dahranwala

3-      Bakhshan Khan