Bahawal Pur District

Area:  24,830 km2
Population:  2,433,091 Est.1998
National Assembly Seats:  5
Provincial Assembly Seats:  10
Tehsils: 5

Current Party Position

Party Ranking:

PML(N)           –     1

PPPP                  –     2

PML (Q)          –     3

Most Infuential Politician: Nawab Salahudin Abbasi 

Qaid-e-Azam with Nawab of Bahawalpur

Bahawalpur is largest district of Punjab in terms of area. Approximately two-thirds of the district (16,000 km²) is covered by the Cholistan Desert, which extends into the Thar Desert of India. The district is a major producer of cotton.

Bahawalpur City, is located in southeastern Punjab . Saraiki is the local language of the area. Urdu, Punjabi and English are also spoken and understood by most of the people.
Bahawalpur originally was a vassal of the great Sikh empire built by Maharajah Ranjeet Singh. In 1936 Bahawalpur stopped paying tribute and openly declared independence. In the Anglo Sikh wars Bahawalpur supported the British and this gurantedd its survival.The founder of the

Noor Mahal – Dera Nawab Sahib – Bahawalpur

State of Bahawalpur was Nawab Bahawal Khan Abbasi I. The Abbasi family ruled over the State for more than 200 years (1748 to 1954). During the rule of the last Nawab Sir Sadiq Muhammad Khan Abbasi V, Bahawalpur State was merged with Pakistan. During the 1960’s (1954) the Nawab agreed (Agreement Dated 3rd October, 1947) for Bahawalpur to be absorbed into modern Pakistan. He was however given special priveledges including the right to import several cars duty free each year. Bahawalpur was formerly the capital of the state and now is the District and Divisional Headquarters of Bahawalpur Division.
The Nawabs of Bahawalpur originally came from Sindh; they formed a princely state and assumed independence in 1802.

The City, which lies just south of the Sutlej River, was founded in 1748 by Muhammad Bahawal Khan and was incorporated as a municipality in 1874. It is the site of the Adamwahan (Empress) Bridge, the only Railway Bridge over the Sutlej River in Pakistan, and has rail links with Peshawar and Karachi.

Darawar Fort – Bahawalpur

The region surrounding Bahawalpur to the west, is the Sindh, is a fertile alluvial tract in the Sutlej River valley that is irrigated by floodwaters, planted with groves of date palms, and thickly populated. The chief crops are wheat, gram, cotton, sugarcane, and dates. Sheep and cattle are raised for export of wool and hides. East of Bahawalpur is the Pat, or Bar, a tract of land considerably higher than the adjoining valley. It is chiefly desert irrigated by the Sutlej inundation canals and yields crops of wheat, cotton, and sugarcane. Farther east, the Rohi, or Cholistan, is a barren desert tract, bounded on the north and west by the Hakra depression with mound ruins of old settlements along its high banks; it is still inhabited by nomads. The principal inhabitants of the region surrounding Bahawalpur are Jat and Baluchi peoples.


National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-183 Bahawal Pur -i            

Ahmed Pur east town committee , Uch Sharif town Committee and rural areas of Ahmed Pur east.

NA-184 Bahawal Pur-ii

 Samma Satta town Committee and parts rural areas of Ahmed Pur east and Bahwal Pur tehsil.

NA-185 Bahawal Pur-iii

Bahawal Pur Municipal Corporation, Bahwal Pur Cantt and parts of rural areas of Bahawal Pur tehsil.

NA-186 Bahawal Pur-iv

Hasil Pur Tehsil and Khair Pur tamiwali tehsil.

NA-187 Bahawal Pur-v

Yazman tehsil and parts of rural areas of Bahawal Pur Tehsil.

Notable Politicians:

  • Makhdoom Zada Syed Ali Hassan Gilani
  • Arif Aziz Sheikh
  • Nawab Salahuddin Abbasi
  • Farooq Azam Malik
  • Riaz Hussain Pirzada
  • Makhdool Shahab –ud-din
  • Amir yar Malik
  • Mohammed Baleeg u Rehman
  • Chaudhry Saud Majid
  • Tariq Bashir Cheema