Dera Ghazi Khan District

Area: 13,743 km2
Population:  1,643,118 < est.1998
National Assembly Seats: 3
Provincial Assembly Seats:  6
Tehsils/ Sub divisions: 3

Dera Ghazi Khan

Tounsa Sharif

De- excluded Area (Tribal Area)

Current Party Position

Party Ranking:









Most Influential Politician: Sardar Zulfiqar Khosa

Dera Ghazi Khan is the unique district due to the mingling of Punjabi/Saraiki culture with the Baloch/Pashtun tribal way of living. Area wise it is the largest district of Punjab. District head quarter is the city of Dera Ghazi Khan, was founded in 15th century by Amar a Tribal Sardar of Mirani tribe. The old city of Dera Ghazi Khan was situated at the distance of 10 miles (16 km) towards east of the present city. In 1908, the old city of Dera Ghazi Khan was abolished due to heavy flood in the river Indus. Resultant the existing city of Dera Ghazi Khan was came into being in the year 1910. The city is divided into different blocks. The British ruler established colonial system in the continent and declared D.G.Khan as district in the year 1849. General Court Land was appointed as first Deputy Commissioner of this District. Keeping in view the rapidly increasing population of the area and deteriorating law and order situation district D.G.Khan was divided in two districts i.e. D.G.Khan and Rajanpur. Presently there are two revenue sub division of the District. A tribal belt/political area spread along with western side of the District

There are petroleum and gas reservoirs in district Dera Ghazi Khan at sites rodho, zindapir, afiband, Dhodhak etc. The Koh-e-Sulaiman Range constitutes a major part of this area, This range is full of naturl deposits like Marble & Lime Stone. A big cement plant DG Cement is also situated in Kofla Sattai Tehsil Dera Ghazi Khan but district lags behind other parts of the province on the human development index.

Farooq Ahmed Khan Laghari – Icon of D.G. Khan

The district’s politics is dominated by the chieftains of Leghari, Khosa, Lund, Gorchani and Qaisrani tribes, and it is home to Farooq Leghari, former president of Pakistan. In 1977, it was from this district that Maulana Mufti Mahmood, the head of the then opposition party Pakistan National Alliance, was elected to the National Assembly.


National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-171  Dera Ghazi Khan– i      Tounsa Tehsil, Parts of De-excluded areas, Chabri Bala, Khalol, Umrani, Jani, Ghumrani, Yaroo, Chak Jhangal, Shah Sadar Din, Shadan Lund. 

NA-172  Dera Ghazi Khan – ii    D.G. Kham Muncipal Committee, Part D.G. Khan Tehsil

NA-173   Dera Ghazi Khan – iii  Part Dera Ghazi Khan Tehsil (Jhok Utra, Ghousabad, Ghousabad Additional, Shahdan Lund, Bahadar garh , Patti Shahani, Qadar Jrwar, Kot Mubarik, Yaroo, Gadai, Kot chutta, Mana Ahmadani, kotla Ahmed Khan.


Notable Politicians:

  • Sardar Zulfiqar Khosa
  • Khawaja Sheeraz Mehmooe
  • Mir Badshah Khan Qaisrani
  • Khawaja Mudassir Mehmood
  • Amjad Farooq Khosa
  • Awais Ahmed Laghari
  • Jamal Laghari
  • Hafiz Abdul Karim
  • Shabbir Ahmed Khan Laghari
  • Sardar Saif ud Din Khosa
  • Sardar Dost Mohammed Khosa
  • Mohammed Saifullah khan Sadozai
  • Sardar Mohammed Khan Laghari