Gujranwala District

Area:  5,988 km2km2
Population:  4,910,600 Est.1998 50.17% Urban
National Assembly Seats:     7
Provincial Assembly Seats:  14
Tehsils/ Towns: 4




Nowshehra Virkan


Current Party Position

Party Ranking:









Most Influential Politician: Gulam Dastgir Khan

Old City Gujranwala

Gujranwala district is a major industrial and agricultural district in the Punjab. The district is famous for certain industries, especially those of cutlery, ceramics and electronics. Of late, Gujranwala has seen numerous glass and steel buildings go up along the GT Road as well as in major markets, making it appear like a confused combination of antiquity and modernity.

Gujranwala city, Pakistan’s fifth largest in terms of population, is unfortunately one of the dirtiest and most polluted cities of the country — sewage water floods the streets and heaps of garbage can be seen along most roads. Despite being home to thousands of industrial units, it does not have a proper system for the safe disposal of effluents from factories.

The district is home to Hamid Nasir Chattha, one of the first men to rebel against Nawaz Sharif’s dominance of the Pakistan Muslim League in the early 1990s. Another notable personality of the district is Ghulam Dastgir Khan, one of the few local politicians who have not changed sides repeatedly: he still remains loyal to PMLN. Khan had to quit electoral politics in 2002 because of his lack of educational qualifications but his son Khurram Dastgir Khan has now taken on his political mantle. In 2008 elections PML-N won 5 out of 7 seats of Gujranwala District.

 National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-95    Gujranwala-i            Gujranwala City

NA-96   Gujranwala-ii           Gujranwala City

NA-97    Gujranwala-iii          Gujranwala Cant. Nandipur, Talwandi Rahwali

NA-98    Gujranwala-iv          Gakhar town Committee, Ladhewala Town Committee,  parts of Wazirabad Tehsil

NA-99    Gujranwala-v            kamoKe Tehsil

NA-100 Gujranwala-vi           Noshera Virkan Tehsil

NA-101 Gujranwala-vii          Wazirabad Municipal committee, Sohdra, Dhonkal,


Notable Politicians:

  • Hamid Nasir Chatha
  • Gulam Dastgir Khan
  • Eng. Khurram Dastgir Khan
  • Barister Usman Ibrahim
  • Ch. Shahid Akram Bhinder
  • Qazi Hameed Ullah
  • Rana Nazir Ahmed Khan
  • Ch. Bilal Ijaz
  • Iftekhar Ahmed Cheema