Gujrat – Famous for its terracotta pottery

Gujrat District

Area: 3,192 km2
Population:  2,948,008 < est.2011
National Assembly Seats: 4
Provincial Assembly Seats:  8
Tehsils/ Towns: 3



Sarai Alamgir

Current Party Position

Party Ranking:









Ch. Shujaat Hussain

Most Influential Politician: Choudhry Shujaat Hussain

Gujrat is an ancient district located in between two famous rivers, the Jhelum and Chenab. Because of its proximity with the rivers the land is good for cultivation with rice and sugar cane as main crops. It is bounded on the northeast by Mirpur, on the northwest by the River Jhelum which separates it from Jhelum District, on the east and southeast by the Chenab River, separating it from the districts of Gujranwala and Sialkot, and on the West by Mandi Bahauddin. District Gujrat is spread over an area of 3,192 square kilometres, and is divided into three tehsils, Gujrat, Kharian, and Sarai Alamgir. There are many historic villages and towns in the district such as Chakdina, Karnana, Kunjah and Lalamusa, the district is important in rice and sugar cane cultivation.

Gujrat is also famed for quite a few local industries. There are over 1,000 cottage-level and small, medium and large industrial units operating throughout the district. In fact, the town of Jalalpur is home to many small and large textile units. Similarly, Gujrat city has at least 500 fan manufacturing factories and it also produces world-renowned appliances such as sanitary ware, tires and tubes. The city is also known for its fine furniture and pottery and the former is exported all over the country.

Home to the president of the PML-Q, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, and the party’s aspirant for the premiership, Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi, Gujrat has never been as important politically as it is now. The district is also the site of one of the biggest electoral battles in the country, in which Hussain has been contesting against Chaudhry Ahmed Mukhtar of the Service Industries since 1990. Another important political player in the district is the Nawabzada family.

In the early twentieth century, a member of this family, Sir Fazl Ali, founded the Zamindara College, one of the first institutions of higher learning in this part of the world. Apart from famed politicians, the area has also produced well known military men — Major Aziz Bhatti Shaheed and Major Shabbir Sharif Shaheed, both recipients of the country’s highest military honour, Nishan-e-Haider.

District would be the focal point of elections 2013 as local district politics slightly changed in recent days with factors i- PPP and PML-Q alliance and ii- Political gain of PML-N after induction of brother of Ch. Ahmed Mukhtar and family members of Nawabzada family. So, there would be interesting three way battle for power in the district between PPP, PML-Q and PML-N.

National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-104  Gujrat – i        Jalal Pur Jattan M.C., Tanda, Piro Shah, Doulat Nagar, Jalal pur Jattan Q.G           

NA-105  Gujrat – ii        Gujrat M.C., Kujah T.C., Shadiwal T.C., Majara, Hariawala, Parts Gujrat Tehsil

NA-106  Gujrat – iii      Lala Mousa M.C., Dinga T.C., Jaura, Bhadder                      

NA-107  Gujrat – iv       Kharian T.C., Kharian Cantt. , Sarai Alamgir tehsil, Sabour

 click on your constituency for detailed analysis and online poling.


Notable Politicians:

  • Choudhry Shujaat Hussain
  • Choudhry Wajahat Hussain
  • Choudhry Pervaiz Elahi
  • Choudhry Ahmed Mukhtar
  • Choudhry Ahmed Saeed
  • Nawabzada Ghzanfer Gill
  • Qamar Zaman Kaira
  • Syed Faiz ul Hassan
  • Syed Noor ul Hassan
  • Mohammed Jamil Malik
  • Rehman Naseer Choudhry
  • Raja Masood Ahmed
  • Nawabzada Muzaffer Ali Khan
  • Khalid Javed Asgher Ghurral
  • Choudhr Abdullah Yousuf
  • Moeen Nawaz Waraich
  • Choudhry Moonas Elahi
  • Haji Imran Zafar
  • Mian Imran Masood
  • Tanvir Ashraf kaira
  • Liaqat Abbas Bhaddar
  • Mian Tariq Mehmood
  • Choudhry Jaffer Iqbal
  • Choudhry Mohammed Arshad
  • Naeem Nawaz
  • Ch. Irfan ud Din