Hafiz Abad District

Area:  2,367 km2
Population:  832,980 Est.1998
National Assembly Seats:  2
Provincial Assembly Seats:  3
Tehsils/ Towns: 2

Current Party Position


Party Ranking:







Most Influential Politician: Choudhry Mehdi Abbas Bhatti

Hafizabad District, one of the newest districts in Punjab, is also the province’s smallest in terms of area. It was formed in 1991, when the tehsil of Hafizabad was separated from the district of Gujranwala. The district consists of two tehsils, Hafizabad and Pindi Bhattian, and its politics is dominated by the rival Bhatti and Tarar families in the rural areas, while the Ansari, Malik, Jat and Mehar biradris are influential in the urban political scene.

Hafizabad is known as “Sheraz-e-Hind” as many poets and scholars of international repute were born in the area, including Arif Saharni and Hanif Saqi.

It is situated at 800 feet (240 m) above sea-level in central Punjab. The district is located between 32°-20′ north latitudes and 73°-12′ and 73°-46′ east longitude. The river Chenab forms the northern and northwestern boundary of the district. Hafizabad shares its borders with Sheikhupura District and Gujranwala District in the east, Mandi Bahauddin District in the north, Sargodha District in the west and Jhang District in the south. Hafizabad is situated at a distance of 300 km from the Federal Capital, Islamabad, and is 90 km away from the Provincial Capital, Lahore.

 National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-102 Hafizabad-i            Hafiz Abad tehsil

NA-103 Hafizabad-ii          Pindi Bahtian Tehsi & Kalike Town Committee

Notable Politicians:

  • Ch. Mehdi Hassan Bhatti
  • Ch. Liaqat Abbas Bhatti
  • Saira Afzal Tarar
  • Shahid Hussein Bhatti