Muzaffargarh District

Area: 8,435 km2
Population:  3,504,000< est.2009
National Assembly Seats: 5
Provincial Assembly Seats:  11
Tehsils/ Towns: 4

Ali Pur


Kot Addu

Muzaffer Garh

Current Party Position

Party Ranking:









Floods are annual exercise in Muzaffargarh District

Most Influential Politician: Ghulam Rabbani Khar

Muzaffargarh district in southern Punjab encompasses about 8,435 square kilometres, and is surrounded by River Chenab on its east and River Indus on its west. Its main city of Muzaffargarh dates back to the sixteenth century and by 1864 the bustling town had grown to become the headquarters of Muzaffargarh District. At present the district is divided into four tehsils: Muzaffargarh, Alipur, Kot Addu and Jatoi.

In 997 CE, Sultan Mahmud Ghaznavi, took over the Ghaznavid dynasty empire established by his father, Sultan Sebuktegin, In 1005 he conquered the Shahis in Kabul in 1005, and followed it by the conquests of northern Punjab region. The Delhi Sultanate and later Mughal Empire ruled the region. The Punjab region became predominantly Muslim due to missionary Sufi saints whose dargahs dot the

Foreign Minister, Hina Rabbani Khar; Soft image of Muzaffargarh District

landscape of Punjab region. After the decline of the Mughal Empire, the Sikh invaded and occupied Sahiwal. The Muslims faced severe restrictions during the Sikh rule.

Muzaffar Garh is one of the oldest districts of Punjab established in 1861 by the British. The district traces its name from its main town Muzaffargarh which in turn was named after its founder Nawab Muzaffar Khan.

While the district is known for its agricultural produce including export-quality dates and mangoes and crops such as wheat, sugarcane and cotton, industry is also flourishing in the area. Cotton ginning, flour, jute, paper and board mills, as well as sugar refineries, contribute to its output. Additionally, two of the country’s largest private power plants and an oil refinery are also located in Muzaffargarh.

Mehmood Kot Fort – depicts historical Muzaffagarh

Politically, many an eminent figure has emerged from this district: Nawab Mushtaq Gurmani, Nawabzada Nasrullah Khan and Malik Ghulam Mustafa Khar to name a few. Women are not lagging far behind either. Three women won seats in the National Assembly in the 2002 elections — Khalida Mohsin Qureshi, Hina Rabbani Khar and Tehmeena Dasti.

Party-wise, in 2002 elections the PML-Q took the lead over the PPP, winning three seats compared to the PPP’s two. While in 2008 all five seats were grabbed by PPP and strengthened its position in district.



National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-176 Muzaffargarh – i         Kot Addu Tehsil (Exclue- Gurmani, Mehmmod Kot, Sanwan, Sheikh Umer, Kotla), Rangpur, Muradabad.      

NA-177  Muzaffergarh – ii         Part Kot Addu Tehsil (Gurmani, Mehmmod Kot, Sanwan, Sheikh Umer, Kotla), Shadi Khan Munda, karam Dad Quraishi, Basira, Rakh Khanpur, Khanur Shumali

NA-178  Muzaffergarh- iii       Muzaffergarh Municpal Committee, Khan Garh Town Committee, Ali pur janubi, Khangarh Janubi, Thatha Siyalan, Shah Jamal,  Mehrpur                   

NA-179  Muzaffergarh – iv        Jatoi Town Committee, Shehr Sultan Town Committee, Bela wala, Damar wala  Shumali, Mahara, Rohilanwali

NA-180  Muzaffergarh – v        Ali Pur Tehsil, Jhugi wala, Jhalarian, Jahan pur, Widad


Notable Politicians:

  • Ghulam Mustafa Khar
  • Ghulam Rabbani Khar
  • Hina Rabbani Khar
  • Jamshed Dasti
  • Nawabzada Mansoor Ali Khan
  • Nawabzada Iftekhar Ali khan
  • Moahsin Ali Quraishi
  • Arshad Abbas Quraishi
  • Ghulam Qasim Hunjra
  • Khalid Ahmed Gurmani
  • Malik Basit khar
  • Moazzam Ali khan Jatoi
  • Makhdoom Zada Basit Sultan Bukhari
  • Abdul Qayyum Khan Jatoi
  • Sardar Ashiq Hussain Gopang