Nankana Sahib District

Area:  2,960 km2
Population:  1,410,000 < est.2005
National Assembly Seats: 3
Provincial Assembly Seats:  6
Tehsils/ Towns: 3

Nankana Sahib

Sangla Hill


Gurdawara Nankana Sahib

Former chief minister of the Punjab, Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi, raised Nankana Sahib from the level of sub district to district in May 2005. Comprising the subdivisions of Safdarabad (formerly Mandi Dhaban Singh), Sangla Hill and Shahkot,  (Safdarabad was reattached to Sheikhupura from 1st december 2008) the new district has two National Assembly seats of its own and shares three with Sheikhupura.

Nankana Sahib, the capital of the district, is famous as the birthplace of the founder of Sikhism, Guru Nanak. It is the most sacred Sikh religious site in the world and attracts some 25,000 Sikh pilgrims each year.



Sikh Pilgrims Mark the birthday of Guru Nanak at Nankana Sahib

National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-135  Nankana Sahib – i  Sangla Hill Municipal committee, Safdar Abad Town Committee

NA-136  Nankana Sahib – ii Manawala Jodh Singh Town Committee, Warburton Town Committee

NA-137  Nankana Sahib – iii Nankana Sahib Municipal Committee, Nankana Sahib Tehsil

Notable Politicians:

  1. Mian Shamim Haider
  2. Choudhry Mohammed Birjees Tahir
  3. Rai Ejaz Khan
  4. Bilal Ahmed Virk
  5. Rai Mansab Ali Kharal
  6. Mohammed Nisar Khan