Narowal District

Area: 2,337 km2
Population:  1,156,097 < est.2010-11
National Assembly Seats: 3
Provincial Assembly Seats:  4
Tehsils/ Towns: 3




Current Party Position

Party Ranking:









Most Influential Politician: Ahsan Iqbal

Narowal city is the capital of the district. Narowal District is divided into three tehsils: Narowal, Shakargarh and Zafarwal. Before the independence of Pakistan in 1947, Shakargarh town was the headquarters of Shakargarh Tehsil, which was a subdivision of the Gurdaspur District of British India. Under the Radcliffe Award, the tehsil of Shakargarh was transferred to Pakistan and attached to Sialkot District. The district of Narowal was carved out of Sialkot district in 1991 and comprises Narowal city and Shakargarh tehsil. The city is located just a few kilometres from India, making it a smuggling hub. The Bara Bhai shrine in the district draws devotees from both India and Pakistan, while the Gurdwara Katarpur Sahib is visited by Sikh pilgrims from across the world.
The district is bounded on the northwest by Sialkot District, on the north by Kathua district of Jammu and Kashmir, on the southeast by the contested Pathankot tehsil of Gurdaspur district (Republic of India), on the south by Amritsar district (Republic of India) and on the southwest by Sheikhupura District in Pakistan
The district is famous for producing high quality pulses and rice. It is also where celebrated Urdu poet Faiz Ahmed Faiz was born in the village of Kala Qadir.

National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-115  Narowal-i              Zafarwal town committee, Qila Sobha Singh Town Committee, Zafarwal tehsil

NA-116  Narowal-ii            Shakargarh Municipal Ccommittee, parts of Shakargarh tehsil

NA-117  Narowal-iii           Narowal municipal committee, Badomalhi Town Committee, Parts of Narowal tehsil

Notable Politicians:

  • Sumaira Naz
  • Mohammed Naseer Khan
  • Tariq Ashraf Kahloon
  • Choudhry Anwer Aziz
  • Daniyal Aziz
  • Mohammed Tariq Anees
  • Ahsan Iqbal
  • Riffat Javed Kahloon
  • Javed Safdar Kahloon