Rahimyarkhan District

Rahim Yar Khan District

Area:  11,880 km2
Population:  4,741,053 Est.2009
National Assembly Seats:  6
Provincial Assembly Seats:  13
Tehsils: 4
  1. Liaqatpur
  2. Khanpur
  3. Rahimyarkhan
  4. Sadiqabad


Current Party Position


Bhong Masjid – Icon of District Rahim Yar Khan

Party Ranking:

PPPP                 –     1

PML(N)           –     2

PML (F)          –     3

Most Infuential Politician: Makhdoom Shahab ud Din

Rahim Yar Khan is a district in the Punjab province of Pakistan, the city of Rahim Yar Khan is the capital. The district lies between 27.40′ – 29.16′ north latitudes and 60.45′ – 70.01′ east longitudes. The Indus flows on the northern outskirts of the districts of Dera Ghazi Khan and Muzaffargarh.

Rahim Yar Khan is a commercial and industrial center, it is connected to the rest of the country through Railway

District Rahim Yar Khan is the house of Fauji Fatilizer and Fatima Fertilizer Plants

Transport and Air Traffic including the other industrial hubs such as Lahore, Karachi, Islamabad, Quetta and Faisalabad. Industries include fertilizer Such as Fauji Fertilizer Company, Fatima Fertilizer Company, cosmetics, glass manufacturing, cotton production and processing, large textile units, flour mills, sugar and oil mills and large-scale power generation projects. Cotton production in Punjab Province starts from this area. Mango and Citrus are the two main fruits of this city. Cottage industries includes ginning, pottery/clay products, agricultural machinery, handicrafts, and embroidery. Agriculture is the Occupation of 65% People Living in Rahim Yar Khan. Recently Rahim Yar Khan Chamber of Commerce was incorporated to overlook the trade and commerce of the city.

Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, former President of the UAE constructed and maintained a private residence just outside the city called ‘Desert Palace’ or Abu Dhabi Palace. It is owned by his son and successor Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan. It is linked with the rahim yar khan airport through a designated road which leads directly into the palace. Some rough estimates are that the surroundings of the area is about 35 square kilometers. It includes a vast hunting area which is used by the royal family only. Influence of Abu Dhabi’s royal family also effected local politics somehow.


National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-192 Rahim yar Khan-i

Liaqat Pur Town committee and Parts of surrounding areas of Liaqat Pur.

NA-193 Rahim Yar Khan-ii

Khan Pur Municipal Committee and parts of surrounding areas of Liaqat Pur and Khan Pur Tehsil.

NA-194 RahimYar Khan-iii

Zahir Pir Town committee and parts of surrounding areas of Khan Pur Tehsil and parts of surrounding areas of Rahim Yar Khan Tehsil.

NA-195 Rahim Yar Khan-iv

Ahmed Pur Lamma Town Committee and parts of surrounding areas of Rahim Yar Khan Tehsil and parts of surrounding areas of Sadiq Abad tehsil.

NA-196 Rahim Yar Khan-v

RahimYarKhan Muncipal Committee, Trinda Sawai Khan Town Committee, Kot Samaba Town Committee and parts of surrounding areas of Tarinda, Rahim yar Khan and Kot Samaba.

NA-197 Rahim Yar Khan-vi

Sadiq Abad Muncipal committee and surrounding areas of Sadiqabd Tehsil and parts of surrounding areas of Ahmed pur Lamma.

Notable Politicians:

  • Syed Hamid Saeed Kazmi
  • Makhdoom Ahmed Alam Anwar
  • Makhdoom Syed Ahmad Mehmud
  • Mian Abdul Sattar
  • Chaudhry Jaffer Iqbal
  • Makhdool Shahab –ud-din
  • Makhdoom Khusroo Bakhtiar
  • Jahangir Khan Tareen
  • Makhdoom Ammad-ud-din
  • Mian Imtiaz Ahmed
  • Javed Iqbal Warraich
  • Raees Munir Ahmed
  • Rafiq Haider Khan Laghari
  • Arshad Khan Laghari