NA-178 Rahim Yar Khan iv      (Old NA-195 Rahim Yar Khan iv)

JamalDin WaliMakhdoom Mustafa mehmood

MNA: Makhdoom Mustafa Mehmood

Party: PPP

Current Position


Makhdoom Ahmed Mehmood S/o Makhdoom Hassan Mehmood of Jamal Din Wali

This constituency is adjacent to NA-197 and been split from NA-197 in 2002, consists of rural areas of Sadiq abad tehsil, mainly Jamal Din Wali and Ahmed Pur Lamma. This Constituency is almost exclusive property of Makhdooms of Jamal Din Wali.

Jahangir Khan Tareen who was business partner of Makhdoom Ahmed Mehmood won this seat consecutively in 2002 and 2008. First time on ticket PML(Q) and then on ticket of PML(F) in 2008.

There is an interesting change in current scenario after business split between Jahangir Khan Tareen and Makhdoom Ahmed Mehmood in 2010 and most recently after Jahangir Khan Tareen’s joining Tehreek e Insaf. Recently Makhdoom Ahmed Mehmood had some meetings with leadership of PML(N) but still its not clear from which platform Ahmed Mehmood will compete in next elections. Any how this seat belongs to Makhdoom Ahmed Mehmood without any party support.

Update: As Makhdoom Ahmed Mehmood affiliate himself with PPP so this is most pet seat of PPP in south Punjab.

Pakvoice gives this seat to PPP

Total population:                              782370

Total Registered Voters:              335006

Male Registered Voters:             

Female Registered Voters:        

Provincial Seats:                              2

Results of 2013 Elections:

Makhdoom Syed Mustafa Mehmood PPP-P 97769
Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar Independent 46888
Maryam Batool PTI 18339

PP-292 By-Elections 

Makhdoom Syed Ali Akbar Mehmood PPP-P 41874
Molvi Muhammad Tariq Chouhan PML-N 31210



Makhdoom Syed Murtaza Mehmood PPP-P 52318
Muhammad Safdar Khan Laghari Independent 19814
Rao Atta Ur Rehman Khan PTI 11564

Results of 2008 Elections:

Winner:                Jahangir Khan Tareen                 PML(F)       Acquired Votes: 84577

Runner Up:         Makhdoom Ammad ud din         PPPP            Acquired Votes: 46056

 Results of 2002 Elections:

Winner:                Jahangir Khan Tareen              PML(Q)         Acquired Votes: 62571

Runner Up:         Makhdoom Ammad ud din       PPPP             Acquired Votes: 46527

Constituency Structure

1-      Ahmed Pur Lamma Town Committee

2-      Taj Garh

3-      Pallu Shah

4-      Muhammed Pur

5-      Shahbaz Pur

6-      Fateh Katta

7-      Ali Mardan

8-     Muhammad Nawaz Wasa

9-    Jamal Din Wali