Rawalpindi District

Area:  5,286 km2
Population:  5405633       Census 2017
National Assembly Seats: 7
Provincial Assembly Seats:  14
Tehsils/ Towns: 7

Current Party Position


Party Ranking:









Most Influential Politician: Choudhry Nisar Ali Khan

Choudhry Nisar Ali Khan

Rawalpindi rose to prominence in the pre-Partition period after it was occupied by the British troops in 1849 and made the headquarters of their northern command. After 1947 the district has not lost its significance — Rawalpindi city is the headquarters of the Pakistan Army. And considering the domination of the military in Pakistani politics, this is the true centre of power. In addition, a significant number of senior-ranking officers of the army also hail from different areas of the district. For instance, Chief of Army Staff General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani belongs to the Gujjar Khan  tehsil of Rawalpindi.

This city of Rawalpindi has been the site of many important political events in the country’s history. First was the murder of Pakistan’s first prime minister Liaquat Ali Khan, who was killed in 1951 while delivering a speech in a park smack in the middle of the city. Named after him, the Liaquat Bagh just recently witnessed the assassination of another former prime minister, Benazir Bhutto. She was killed on December 27, 2007 as she was leaving a PPP election rally in the park where she had delivered a speech. Benazir Bhutto’s father, Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, was hanged in 1979 at Adiala Jail, also located in this city.

The much-talked about student movement against General Ayub Khan’s government too started from a polytechnic college in Rawalpindi after a student was killed here in 1967 by the police. Over twenty years later, the metropolis blew up again – literally – because of the explosions at Ojhri Camp, an army ammunition dumping site in Rawalpindi, on April 10, 1988, killing more than 100 people. The explosion became one of the causes for the removal of Mohammad Khan Junejo’s government by Ziaul Haq after the former demanded an inquiry into the incident. He suspected that senior military officials were involved in the ‘accident’ to cover up the embezzlement in arms delivery to Afghan Mujahideen.

Comprising seven tehsils, more than half of the district’s population lives in urban areas. Though Rawalpindi is the largest and most prominent city of the district, others such as Taxila, Gujjar Khan and Murree are also not entirely unknown: Taxila is home to an important archaeological site while Murree is a famous hill resort of the country.

With seven National Assembly constituencies in the district, Rawalpindi is home to several politicians of national stature who have played leading roles in national politics and governance during the tenures of various prime ministers. For instance, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, who won six consecutive times from Taxila tehsil, was considered the most powerful man after the prime minister during the two tenures of Nawaz Sharif. Sheikh Rashid Ahmed, another leading political figure from the area, has also made his mark on national politics. Former member of the National Assembly, Raja Pervez Ashraf, who belongs to Gujjar Khan tehsil, is a central leader of the PPP. Rawalpindi is seen as a strong organizational and ideological base for the PPP. Another party with an organizational base in the district’s urban areas is the JI. PML-N is clear lead Party of the district who bagged six out of seven seats from Rawalpindi.

National Assembly Constituencies:

New Delimitation of Rawalpindi MC

New Delimitation of Rawalpindi MC

NA-57 (Old Na-50) Rawalpindi-i        Muree Tehsil, Kotli Sattian Tehsil, Kahuta Tehsil

NA-58 (Old NA-51)  Rawalpindi-ii      Gujjar Khan Tehsil, Periphery Rawalpindi city

Related Links
Fifty People had given applications for PML-N ticket from


NA-59 (Old NA-52)  Rawalpindi-iii     Kallar syedan, Periphery Rawalpindi city

NA-63 (old NA-53 ) Rawalpindi-vii     Texila Tehsil, Periphery Rawalpindi city

NA-61 (Old NA-54)  Rawalpindi-v      Rawalpindi cantonment

NA-62 (Old NA-55)  Rawalpindi-vi      Rawalpindi city

NA60 (Old NA-56)- Rawalpindi-iv      Rawalpindi City


Notable Politicians:

  • Choudhry Nisar Ali Khan
  • Shahid Khaqan Abbasi
  • Malik Abrar Ahmed
  • Mohammed Hanif Abbasi
  • Malik Shakil Awan
  • Amir Fida Paracha
  • Zammurd Khan
  • Bsharat Raja
  • Ghulam Sarwar Khan
  • Ghulam Murtaza Satti