Sahiwal District

Area:  km2
Population:  1,843,194  < est.2010-11
National Assembly Seats: 4
Provincial Assembly Seats:  7
Tehsils/ Towns: 2



Current Party Position

Party Ranking:









Most Influential Politician: Ch. Nouraiz Shakoor

What is now Sahiwal city was originally named Montgomery in 1865, after Sir Robert Montgomery — then lieutenant governor of Punjab. Located 180 kilometres from Lahore, the city became known as Sahiwal in 1966. The area boasts of an ancient history: Harappa, the largest city in the northern part of the Indus Valley Civilization, is located here.

This south-eastern Punjab district consists of two tehsils: Chichawatni and Sahiwal. The district is known for cattle brearing, besides its main crops, wheat, cotton, sugarcane, maize and rice. Not dependent on agriculture alone, the district has many local industries, including cotton ginning and pressing, wool spinning and weaving, tanneries, chipboard manufacturing and confectionery units. Famous sons of the soil include the renowned poet, Munir Niazi and Majid Amjad.

Among the old political families of Sahiwal are the Rajput Chaudhrys. They have been a part of local, provincial and national politics for 50 years. In the 60s the late Chaudhry Abdul Shakoor became the first deputy-mayor of Sahiwal. His friendship with Zulfikar Ali Bhutto made him join the PPP in 1968. His son, Chaudhry Naurez Shakoor, followed his father’s political footsteps and won the 2002 elections on a PPP ticket.

National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-160  Sahiwal-i              Shahiwal Municipal Committee, Qadirabad, Yousuwala

NA-161  Sahiwal-ii              Kamir Town Committee, Naiwala, Dera Rahim, Mohammedpur,

NA-162  Sahiwal-iii           Chichawatni Municipal Committee, Dad Fatiana, Ghaziabad, Harrappa

NA-163  Sahiwal-iv              Okanwala, Shahkot, Iqbal nagar, kassowal,

Notable Politicians:

  • Imran Ahmed Shah
  • Choudhary Nouraiz Shakoor
  • Begum Shehnaz Javed
  • Mehr Ghulam Fareed Kathia
  • Choudhary Zahid Iqbal
  • Malik Nouman Langarial
  • Choudhary Munir Azhar
  • Rai Aziz U llah Khan
  • Rana Tariq Javed
  • Wilayat Shah Khagga
  • Malik Nadeem Kamran