NA-89 Sargodha ii (Old NA-65 Sargodha ii)

Kot Momin

Election 2018:

          PML-N              PTI          PPP/Other
 Mohsin Shahnawaz Ranjha      Usman Ahmed Mela
Mohasin Shahnawaz Ranjha

Mohasin Shahnawaz Ranjha

Ex-MNA: Mohsin Shah Nawz Ranjha (2013-2018)

Party: PML-N

Current Political Position


Most of the area falling in this constituency was once NA-48 Sargodha II. It was from here that Nawaz Sharif contested and won a National Assembly in the 1990 general elections apart from his traditional seat of Lahore. In 2002 elections Ghias Ahmed Mela of the PMLQ defeated Mehr Khaliq Yar Lak of the PPP by a narrow margin of 3,000 votes to win this seat. Again in 2008 history repeated when Mela again defeated Lak by narrow margin of less than 200 votes. PMLN’s Mohsin Shahnawaz Ranjha the son of former MPA Shahnawaz Ranjha remained third though he got more that 43 thousand votes.

Ghias Ahmed Mela enjoyed the support of his brother Chaudhry Bakhtiar in last elections who was then tehsil nazim in Kot Momin, a main town in the area at that time. In fact, his family has always played a prominent role in the region’s politics. His uncle Colonel (retd) Qadir Bakhsh Mela won a National Assembly seat on a PPP ticket and worked as the state minister for sports in the government formed by the party in 1988. Later the family switched sides, joining the PMLN and after quite some time it shifted its loyalties to the PML-Q.

His challenger, PPP’s Mehr Khaliq Yar Lak was not a political lightweight either. He is the son of Mehr Khudadad, a former senator and MNA. Lak’s father-in-law, Mehr Dastgir Lak, was also a prominent leader of the PPP in Sargodha district before he defected to the PMLQ.

Total   population:                            738938
Total Registered   Voters:               287545
Provincial   Seats:                               2

Results of 2013 Elections:

Mohsin Shahnawaz Ranjha PML-N 102517
Ghias Ahmad Mela PML-Q 60345
Madiha Mazhar Ali Ranjha Independent 10378
Coloner (R) Ejaz Hussain Minhas PTI 8835


Chaudhry Tahir Ahmad Sindhu Adovocate PML-N 37624
Rao Abdul Qayoom Independent 15786
Mian Abdul Qadeer Ahmad Independent 9527
Ansar Abbas Independent 7089
Muhammad Ashraf Gondal PPP-P 5138


Mian Munazir Hussain Ranjha PML-N 29841
Muhammad Aslam Independent 15321
Mian Mazhar Ali Ranjha Independent 13985
Ansar Iqbal Haral PTI 12235

 Results of 2008 Elections:

Winner Ghias Ahmed Mela PML(Q) Acquired Votes: 53518
Runner Up Mehr Khaliq Yar Lak PPPP Acquired Votes: 53257

 Results of 2002 Elections:

Winner Ghias Ahmed Mela PML-Q Acquired Votes: 62306
Runner Up Mehr Khaliq Yar Lak PPPP Acquired Votes: 59034


Constituency Structure

1-      Kot Momin  Tehsil

2-      Following QH of Sargodha Tehsil

i- Mitha Luck

ii- Bhagtanwala

iii- Ajnala PC of Mari QH

iv- following PCs of 90SB QH

  • Chak no. 29/sb
  • Chak no. 30/sb
  • Chak no. 33/sb
  • Chak no. 34/Sb