Established: July 1, 1970                   Capital: Karachi   

Area: 140,914 km2 (54,407.2 sq mi)

Population: 35,470,648 Est.1998    No. of Districts: 23       

National Assembly seats: 61

Provincial assembly seats:168      

Governor: Ishrat Ul Ibad  Khan  

Chief Minister: Syed Qaim Ali Shah

Moen-jo-Daro -Remains of Oldest Civilization near Larkana Sindh

Sindh historically referred to as Ba’ab-ul-Islam (lit. The gateway of Islam), is one of the four provinces of Pakistan and historically is home to the Sindhi people. It is also locally known as the “Mehran”. The name of Sindh is derived from the Indus River that separates it from Balochistan and the greater Iranian Plateau. Sindh is bounded to the west by the Indus River and Balochistan, to the north by Punjab, the east by the Indian states of Gujarat and Rajasthan and to the south by the Arabian Sea.

The capital of the province is Karachi, Pakistan’s largest city and financial hub. Most of the population in the province is Muslim, with sizeable Christian, Zoroastrian and Hindu minorities. The main language spoken is Sindhi by about 40 million people, while there exists a significant Urdu-speaking minority mainly in cities of Karachi, Hyder Abad and Mir Pur Khas districts.

Pakistan People’s Party and Bhutto Family remained Political In-charge of Sindh since 1970.

The Sindh assembly was the first British Indian legislature to pass the resolution in favour of Pakistan. Influential Sindhi activists under supervision of G.M. Syed and other important leaders at the forefront of the provincial autonomy movement, joined the Muslim League in 1938 and presented the Pakistan resolution in the Sindh Assembly. In 1890 Sindh acquired representation for the first time in the Bombay Legislative Assembly. Four members represented Sindh. Those leaders and many others from Sindh played an important role in ensuring the separation of Sindh from the Bombay Presidency, which finally took place on 1 April 1936. The newly created province, Sindh, secured a Legislative Assembly of its own, elected on the basis of communal and minorities’ representation. Sir Lancelot Graham was appointed as the first Governor of Sindh by the British Government on 1 April 1936. He was also the Head of the Council, which comprised 25 Members, including two advisors from the Bombay Council to administer the affairs of Sindh until 1937.

The Provincial Assembly of Sindh is unicameral and consists of 168 seats, of which 5% are reserved for non-Muslims and 17% for women. The provincial capital of Sindh is Karachi. The government is presided over by the Chief Minister of Sindh. Most of the Sindhi tribes in the province are involved in Pakistan’s politics. Sindh is a stronghold of the centre-left Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), which is the largest political party in the province.

Ghulam HussainHadayatullah – FirstCheif Minister of Sindh


Allah bux Soomro2nd CM of Sindh1938-1940 Mohammed Ayub KhoroFirst CM of Sindh afterPartition 1947-1948 Mumtaz BhuttoCM Sindh during Z.A. BhuttoEra 1972-1973 Qaim Ali Shahcurrent Cheif MinisterRemained in seat for

longest period


Notable Politicians:

There are 23 districts in Sindh, Pakistan.

Karachi       Jamshoro       Thatta      Badin       Tharparkar       Umerkot       Mirpur Khas        Tando Allahyar

Naushahro Feroze         Tando Muhammad Khan        Hyderabad      Sanghar      Khairpur      Benazirabad

Dadu      Qambar Shahdadkot       Larkana     Matiari      Ghotki        Shikarpur       Jacobabad     Sukkur