Shaheed Benazir Abad /Nawabshah District

Area:  4,502 km2
Population:  1,279,825 < est.2010
National Assembly Seats: 2
Provincial Assembly Seats: 5
Tehsils/ Towns: 4
  • Nawabshah
  • Daulatpur
  • Daur
  • Sakrand

Current Party Position

Party Ranking:









Most Influential Politician: Asif Ali Zardari

President Zardari reviewing development works in S. Benazir Abad District with Cheif Minister Qaim Ali Shah

Shaheed Benazirabad District previously known as Nawabshah District is centeral district of  of Sindh. The district was renamed in September 2008 when most of MPAs of Nawabshah demanded the district be renamed to honour the late party leader. The re-naming of the district was criticized by the family of Syed Nawabshah and others who, while saddened at the death of Bhutto, felt that Nawabshah was a historic district and ought to have kept its name.

Nawabshah Taluka was established in 1907, which later in 1912 was upgraded to the “Nawabshah District”, named after Syed Nawab Shah son of Syed Nawaz Ali Shah, who migrated from the Sann district Dadu to Nawabshah with his family in 1881. At the establishment of the district in 1912, the seven Talukas were included in this district namely Kandiaro, Nausheroferoze, Moro, Sakrand, Nawabshah, Sanjhoro and Shahdadpur. Landlords of the Jatoi, Syed, and Jam tribes were active in the politics of Nawabshah from the very beginning, but from 1970 and onwards, the Pakistan Peoples Party became the biggest political party of the district. Since then, the main ruling communities in the district are from Jatoi, Jokhio and Jokhio’s many villages, and from Syed, Magsi and Zardari. This district is located in the centre of the Sindh Province of Pakistan, and is therefore commonly known as the Heart of Sindh.

Though once considered the stronghold of the Syeds and Shahs, Asif Zardari is the man who pulls the strings in Benazir Abad / Nawabshah. Though some political activists and workers are against Zardari’s control of the district, they are unwilling to raise their voices as they think it will make little difference. Hence, the end result is that every politically-inclined person has become redundant.


National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-213  Shaheed Benazirabad – i       NawabShahTalluqa,       

NA-214  Shaheed Benazirabad – ii      Doulatpur Talluqa, Sakrand Talluqah



Notable Politicians:

  • Azra Afzal Pacheho
  • Syed Zahid Hussain Shah
  • Asif Ali Zardari
  • Syed Ghulam Mustafa Sha
  • Khan Mohammed Dhari
  • Tariq Masood Arain
  • Abdul Rasheed Bhiyya
  • Ahmed Ali Khan Jalbani
  • Ali Nawaz Barohi
  • Syed Faseeh Ahmed
  • Ghulam Qadir Chandio
  • Abdul Hafeez Uner
  • Muntaz Ali jamali
  • Jam Tamachi Uner
  • Sardar Bahadur Khan Dahri