karachi District

Area:  3,527 km2 (1,362 sq mi)
Population:  13,052,000 Est. 2010
National Assembly Seats:  20
Provincial Assembly Seats:  42
Tehsils/ Towns: 18

Current Party Position


Party Ranking:









Most Influential Politician: Altaf Hussain

Altaf Hussain-Founder/Qaid MQM

The country’s biggest city is often called mini-Pakistan and home of over 14.5 million people from every community and ethnicity in the country. Some people say that Karachi has more Pashtuns than Peshawar and more Baloch than any city of Balochistan. And that’s not even considering the large population of non-Pakistanis that make their home here, such as almost a million Afghans.
Just a settlement for fishermen in early nineteenth century Karachi moved to the status of Municipal Committee in 1853, became Municipal Corporation in 1933 and got the status of Metropolitan Corporation in 1976. After Pakistan was created in 1947, the city’s demography changed dramatically as Muslim refugees from all over India migrated to the new country and settled here. They brought with them their culture and cuisine, adding to the diversity of the city. From a population of about 0.4 million people in 1947, it has now grown into one of the biggest cities in the world.
Karachi was the first federal capital also, but it was shifted north to Islamabad in 1960 by General Ayub Khan.
“The City of Lights” as it has been lovingly called, Karachi was a stronghold of religio-political parties until the 1980s. With the revival of political activities after the lifting of martial law by General Ziaul Haq, the newly set up Muhajir Qaumi Movement (MQM) – now the Muttahida Qaumi Movement – emerged as the single biggest party in the city and remains so, despite the army operations against it from1992 to 1996.

Karachi’s other significant political movements included those directed against the regimes of Ayub Khan in 1968 and Zulfikar Ali Bhutto in 1977. Earlier in 1953, it was the home of Pakistan’s first student movement.

Syed Munawer Hassan-Ameer JI

There area twenty National assembly constituencies of Karachi city district. In Elections of 2002 Muttehedda Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) the religious alliance challenged MQM traditional unopposed dominance and clinched five seats from jaws of MQM. One seat pocketed by Mohajer Qoumi Movement and two (2) by PPPP.

On the other hand in 2008 MQM re gained its traditional hold in Karachi and won seventeen (17) seats out of total twenty. PPPP claimed three (3) seats.

In present scenario, though Imran Khan’s PTI did an impressive show of power in Karachi but PTI lack political home work in Karachi’s local politics. PTI can lead the show and demonstrate the success like 2002’s MMA if they unite all anti MQM forces under their banner and do some seat adjustments accordingly.

 National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-239 Karachi-i            Costal areas of kemari, Hawksbay, Parts of Baldia Town

NA-240 Karachi-ii           Balida, Shershah, Pak Colony, Rexer lane, Mianwali colony

NA-241 Karachi-iii          Towheed colony, Orangi Town, Frontier colony, Bhawani Chali

NA-242 Karachi-iv             Orangi Town, Peerabad, Qasba, New Mianwali colony

NA-243 Karachi-v            North Karachi, New Karachi, Surjani

NA-244 Karachi-vi           North Karachi, New Karachi, Buffer Zone, F.B.Area

NA-245 Karachi-vii         North Karachi, New Karachi, N. Nazim Aabad, Shadman Town

NA-246 Karachi-viii        Gulberg town, Liaqat Abad

NA-247 Karachi-ix          Nazim Abad, Liaqat Abad, Qasim Abad, Gulbahar, Mureed Goth, Firdous colony

NA-248 Karachi-x          Layari

NA-249 Karachi-xi           Kumbhar Wara, Usman abad, Dhobi ghat, Ghas mandi, Garden, Lee Market

NA-250 Karachi-xii          Saddar, Urdu Bazar, Clifton, Shireen Jinah Colony, bath island, Gizri, kalapul

NA-251 Karachi-xiii         Chaneser Goth, Mehmmod abad, Azam Town, Manzoor Colony, PECHS

NA-252 Karachi-xiv         PIB Colony, PECHS, Gulshan e Iqbal, Nishtar Road, C.P Barar, Soldier bazar

NA-253 Karachi-xv         Gulshan, Gulistan-e-johar, Gulshane Iqbal, Brohi goth, University Road

NA-254 Karachi-xvi        Korangi, Bhitai colony

NA-255 Karachi-xvii      Landhi, korangi

NA-256 Karachi-xviii    Drig Road, Shah Faisal Colony, GreenTown, SFC Town, Model Colony, Malir Halt

NA-257 Karachi-xix      Malir, Malir Cantt. Khuldabad, Cattle colony, Saudabad, Sabir Colony, Landhi

NA-258 Karachi-xx       Sector 4 to 6 of Landhi, Muzaffarabad Colony, Bilal Colony, Burmese Colony, Labour Colony, Sharafi Goth, Ibrahim Haidery


Notable Politicians:

  • Allama Shah Ahmed Noorani (Late)
  • Altaf Hussain
  • Azeem Ahmed Tariq
  • Dr. Farooq Sattar
  • Dr. Imran Farooq (Late)
  • Moulana Mohammed Yousuf Binnori (Late)
  • Mustafa Kamal
  • Dr. Ishrat ul Ibad Khan
  • Hakeem Mohammed Saeed (Late)
  • Syed Munawer Hassan
  • Abdul Sattar Afghani
  • Naimatullah Khan
  • Mohammed Hussain Mehnati