MirPur Khas District

Area:        km2
Population:  1,569,030 < est.1998
National Assembly Seats: 2
Provincial Assembly Seats:  4
Talluqas/ Subdivisions: 3
  • Digri
  • Kot Ghulam Muhammad
  • Mirpur Khas

Current Party Position


Party Ranking:









Most Influential Politician: Mir Munawwer Ali Talpur

Mirpur Khas is famous for its best quality Mangoes

Mirpur Khas District is one of eastern districts in the province of Sindh. It’s capital is Mirpur Khas. Mirpurkhas once richly deserved the epithet “Khas” for encompassing a large territory. But after several areas were annexed from it, Mirpurkhas remains a poor shadow of its former self. However, administratively the district is probably better managed now than it was in the past.

The district was previously dominated by the PPP and the MQM. But ever since Pir Pagaro began reorganising his faction of the PML, the area has been experiencing three-way political activity.

After the capture of Sindh by the British, they created Thar and Parkar District in Southeastern Sindh for administrative purposes. Later, after the creation of Pakistan, some area on the northern side was detached from the original Tharparkar District and named Sanghar District. Later, due to political and administrative reasons, the remaining part of Tharparkar was divided again into three more districts: (1) Mirpurkhas District (with headquarters at Mirpurkhas), (2) Tharparkar District (with headquarters at Mithi) and (3) Umerkot District.

Mirpurkhas District derives its name from the town of Mirpurkhas, founded by Mir Ali Murad Talpur in 1806.

Irrigation and farming was revitalized after the Jamrao Canal was built in the 1900s. The city was able to produce and cycle crops to supply mainly grain, cotton products like fabrics, and sugar from the sugarcane cultivations. For a certain period in history, Mirpur Khas enjoyed being the best cotton producer in the country and much of the income of the town came from cotton farming. In late 18th century, many Muslim families were shifted from east Punjab to the area. Their contribution to the agriculture and irrigation systems is remarkable. They live mostly in rural areas with peace and harmony.

Nowadays, however, the area is much known its mango produce. The city seeks pleasure in declaring having 250 different varieties of “mangoes”, of which the most famous variety is the *Sindhri Amb* literally the mango from Sindh. The city boasts its mango products at an annual harvest festival showcasing its world-renowned produce.


National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-226  Mirpur Khas – i         Mirpur Khas Talluqa, Pithoro Talluqa, Murad Shah, Chaunro, Gorchani  

NA-227  Mirpur Khas – ii         Digri Talluqa, Kot Ghulam Mohammed Talluqa,


Notable Politicians:

  • Pir Aftab Shah Jilani
  • Fakir Ghulam Nabi Mangrio
  • Mir Munawer Ali Talpur
  • Makhdoom Shah Nawaz
  • Syed Qurban Ali Shah
  • Sardar Ghulam Mustafa Khaskheli
  • Ali Nawaz Shah
  • Zulfiqar Ali Shah
  • Ali Murad Rajar
  • Muzaffar Hussain Shah
  • Mir Mohammed Hayat Khan Talpur
  • Mir Waqar Ahmed Talpur
  • Mir Mehboob Ali
  • Jamil Ahmed Bhurghari