Qambar Shahdad kot District

Area:         km2
Population:  770,000 < est.2009
National Assembly Seats: 2
Provincial Assembly Seats:  4
Talluqas/ Subdivisions: 7
  • Kamber
  • Shahdadkot
  •  Warah
  •  Mirokhan
  •  Nasirabad
  • Qubo Seed khan
  • Sajawal

Current Party Position

Party Ranking:









Most Influential Politician: Bilawal Bhutto Zardari

Kambar Shahdadkot District is the newest  district of Sindh Province, established in 2004/05.

This name was chosen by much conflict between the people of Qambar Ali Khan City and Shahdad Kot City in the days of Chief Minister of Sindh Arbab Ghulam Rahim in 2004. At first its name was District Qambar but after many protests by Shahdad Kot City it was renamed to Qambar Shahdad Kot District.

The talukas of Kamber and Shahdadkot had been part of Larkana district since long. To weaken this PPP citadel and accommodate the Chandios, ex-chief minister Arbab Ghulam Rahim carved a new district out of Larkana comprising the two talukas. Nawab Shabbir Khan Chandio, the grandson of Ghaibi Khan Chandio, a powerful landlord of his time, was elected its first district nazim in 2005. His son, Sardar Khan Chandio, became the taluka nazim. The Chandios and Magsis are the main forces in the area and they flex their political muscles during election time.

National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-206  Qambar Shahdadkot – i        Qambar Talluqa, Behram Chandio STC, Bhago Dero STC, Qubo Saeed STC, Sando TC, Gajji Khuhwar STC            

NA-207  Qambar Shadadkot – ii           Rato Dero Talluqa, Shahdadkot Talluqa, Miro khan Talluqa


Notable Politicians:

  • Nawab Shabbir Khan Chandio
  • Sardar Khan Chandio
  • Amir Ali Magsi
  • Shahid Hussain Bhutto
  • Faryal Talpur
  • Khalid Iqbal Memon
  • Dr. Khalid Mehmood Soomro
  • Syed Asgher Hussain Rashdi
  • Ayaz Soomro
  • Haji Muawwer Ali Abbassi
  • Ghulam Mujadid Isran
  • Mir Nadir Ali Magsi