Tharparkar District

Area: 19,638   km2
Population:  914,291 < est.1998
National Assembly Seats: 2
Provincial Assembly Seats:  4
Talluqas/ Subdivisions: 4
  1. Mithi
  2. Diplo
  3. Nagarparker
  4. Chachro

Current Party Position

Party Ranking:









Most Influential Politician: Arbab Ghulam Rahim

Gori Temple – Tharparkar

Tharparkar is the only fertile desert in the world. The region derives its names from Thar and Parkar. The name Thar is from Thul, the general term for sand region or sand ridges and Parkar literary means “to cross over”. The region was earlier known as Thar and Parkar, later they became one word.

When Sir Charles Napier became victor of Sindh in 1843, this part was merged into Katchh political agency in Hyderabad collect-orate, later on in 1858 the entire area became part of Hyderabad. Subsequently in 1860 it was renamed as “Eastern Sindh frontier” with its Head Quarter Umerkot, controlled by Political Superintendent. In 1882 it was renamed as district and its administrative head was Deputy Commissioner. Lastly in 1906 Head Quarter of the district was shifted from Umerkot to Mirpurkhas. Until 1990 the present district of Tharparkar, Umerkot and Mirpurkhas comprised one separate district in 1990 i.e. Mirpurkhas and Thar established the town on Mithi as the new head quarters of the Tharparkar district, while Umerkot was bifurcated on 17 April 1993.

Tharparkar district is almost a private fiefdom of the Arbabs. It was Arbab Ghulam Rahim’s long-cherished dream to grab political power which came true when he became the province’s chief minister.

The fact that he invited Shaukat Aziz, the former prime minister, to stand from his stronghold as a National Assembly candidate provided him an opportunity to brand himself as a power-broker. He will, however, be remembered for the road network he laid out in the district, making travel easy and inexpensive. He also accommodated and posted people of his hometown to lucrative government positions which previously were a no-go area for Thar’s population.

National Assembly Constituencies:

NA-229  Tharparkar – i            Diplo Talluqa, Mithi Talluqa, Chelhar STC, Rajoro STC

NA-230  Tharparkar – ii           Nagarparker Talluqa, Chachro Talluqa (ex.Rajro, Vighiyar, Chelhar)


Notable Politicians:

  • Arbab Ghulam Rahim
  • Arbab Zakaullah
  • Mahesh Kumar Mehlani
  • Dr. Ghulam Hyder Samejo
  • Imam Ali Samejo
  • Arbab Zulfiqar Ali
  • Sharjeel Inaam Memon
  • Wali Mohammed Rahemoon
  • Pesso Mal Akrani
  • Arbab Haji Abdullah
  • Abdul Razzaq Rahimmon
  • Dost Mohammed Rahimoon